On this blog

A dream of mankind has been fulfilled: We live in a society where people get much older than ever before. How do we want to age? Who and where are our models for ageing?

Sabine Interview 1
This is me during an interview with my sister. © Peter Petrides

I am a film maker and journalist – and my big model is my grandmother who died at age 100. Almost until the end she lived by herself, and even when she had to be taken care of in a residence, she never lost her humour and her wisdom. I look forward to explore the new worlds of old age!

I have been working together with Ilona Kalmbach on a three-part documentary series for ARTE, The best is yet to come. We want to show people who are positive examples of ageing – with their active participation in society, with new forms of co-housing, with new love and relationships.

Who is born today has a 50 percent chance to live for 100 years. Why do we then rush through our life as if there was no tomorrow? Leaving school at 17, university at 22, get a job, get kids, midlife crisis at 40. Retirement at 65 – or a new start, as André Vallette shows us? Cruising through the mediterranean at 70 – or a new love, like Waltraud and Wilhelm? Sitting in your armchair at 80 – or still working for a better society, like Ursula Lehr? Still dancing at age 90, like Fe Reichelt? What do you think?

Sabine Jainski

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Über dieses Blog

Ein Menschheitstraum geht in Erfüllung: Wir leben in einer Gesellschaft, wo die Menschen viel älter als früher werden. Wie wollen wir alt werden? Wer sind unsere Vorbilder?

Sabine Interview 1
Hier bin ich beim Interview mit meiner Schwester. © Peter Petrides

Ich bin Filmemacherin und Journalistin – und mein großes Vorbild ist meine Oma, die mit 100 Jahren gestorben ist. Fast bis zum Schluss hat sie selbstständig gelebt – und auch im Pflegeheim hat sie ihren Humor und ihre Weisheit nie verloren. Ich freue mich, die neuen Welten des Alters zu erkunden!

Für ARTE habe ich gemeinsam mit Ilona Kalmbach eine dreiteilige Dokumentationsreihe realisiert: „Das Beste kommt noch!“ Hier möchten wir Ihnen Menschen vorstellen, die Lust machen, das Alter zu leben – mit Engagement, mit neuen Wohnformen, mit Liebe und neuen Beziehungen.

Wer heute geboren wird, hat eine 50prozentige Chance, 100 Jahre alt zu werden. Warum hetzen wir also durchs Leben, als gäbe es kein Morgen? Mit 17 aus der Schule, mit 22 aus der Uni, dann Job und Kinder, mit 40 in der Krise. Dann mit 65 endlich in Rente – oder Neustart, wie André Vallette? Mit 70 auf Kreuzfahrt – oder eine neue Liebe, wie Waltraud und Wilhelm? Mit 80 im Ohrensessel – oder für eine bessere Gesellschaft unterwegs, wie Ursula Lehr? Mit 90 noch tanzen – wie Fe Reichelt? Mit 100 noch so viel Humor wie meine Oma? Was meinen Sie?

Sabine Jainski

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.